Tenerife is densely-populated island (with around 440 inhabitants per square kilometre),with around 900000 permanent inhabitants (it also has large floating population working temporarily on the island in the service sector, which can increase this number to 2100000. Although emigration has been a constant presence throughout the island`s history, recent years these migratory flows have become more intense. The majority settled in the north of the island, drawn by the more favourable climate, and the abundance of water and shipping routes. The island`s two largest cities are Santa Cruz de Tenerife (225000 inhabitants) and San Cristobal de la Laguna (150000 inhabitants). Together with Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, they form principal urban hubs of Canary Islands. A number of other towns boast populations of more then 20000, including La Orotava, Granadilla de Aboma, Los Realejos, Puerto de la Cruz, Icod de los Vinos and Candelaria, together with a number of other municipalities situated in the south, the site of large tourist resorts, such as Adeje (44000 inhabitants) and Arona (80000 inhabitants). The least-densely populated municipalities lie mainly inland; Vilaflor and El Tanque for example, have less than 3000 inhabitants. The island is also home to large colonies of foreign residents, mainly Britons, Germans, Dutch and Scandinavians.

solution webmod: Website developement